The Ministry of Education and Employment is responsible for the provision of education in Malta. The Directorate for Quality and Standards in Education (DQSE) is specifically responsible to regulate, evaluate, and report on the various sections of the compulsory education system, with the aim of assuring quality education for all.  


The education policy in Malta is characterised by two main premises; equity and quality. This commitment is evident by an inclusive policy at all levels of education and the provision of free education to all from kindergarten to tertiary education. Education in Malta is offered through three different providers: the state, the church, and the private sector, the latter type of school being perceived to be generally English medium schools.    


The Government subsidises Church schools which do not charge tuition fees and gives tax rebates to parents sending their children to private schools.  


Compulsory education is sub-divided into a six year primary cycle (5 to 10+years) and five years of secondary education (11 to16 years). As highlighted in the National Curriculum Framework (2012)10, throughout the whole educational cycle the government is committed to a policy of inclusive education, where children with special needs are integrated into the mainstream. In Malta, all children between ages 4 and 16 years old have the right to free education in all state schools.